Mirages Over My Roof

In my young days, I used to see Mirages over my attap-roof top.  These were not not hallucinations, but sure enough they got me underway as a junkie – an aircraft junkie, that is.

My house was just about 5km from the then RAAF airbase, and among others, Mirage III-0 fighters would roar over my rooftop whole day long. Fascinating to watch them taking off, especially at night with orange and blue flames shooting out from their afterburners.

The shockwaves always managed to shake some little worms from the underside of my attap roof, and sent them dropping down onto the floor, or anything or anyone that passed underneath them.

Leave a Reply

