‘Twas Not Like Flying A Kite

My first and only visit to Pulau Tioman, was in 1990. In the twinkling of an eye, a quarter of a century had flown by.  The Twin Otter of Pelangi Airways (photo) that my wife and I took from Singapore Seletar Airport to the island resort could seat probably 20 people, but on that trip there only 8 passengers.

When we boarded, we saw each seat had a straw fan, and a tetrapak packet drink. Enroute to Tioman, the pilot recognized a friend in the cabin, chatted and then invited him to take over the controls — just to try out !!   Some unexpected thrill that was!

Later, I asked the pilot if I could also try.  He asked me, “Any previous flying experience, Sir?”  I answered, “Kite“.   And he said, “Sila balik duduk baik-baik” (meaning, please go back and sit properly”).

Leave a Reply

