Going ‘Nuts & Bananas Over A Wedding ?

As I was visualizing my kiddo days in my kampong, I remembered that 90% of the neighbours around my house were of Tamil Indian origin. (My parents communicated with them in Bahasa Melayu, and my granny, a mixture of Melayu and Tamil).

And now and then, these neighbours would hold a wedding feast. A temporary shelter – sometimes holding up to a hundred people or so – would be erected, and decorated with intricately pleated coconut leaves, as well as banana leaves and banana tree trunks, and jantong.  Very artistic, and lovely to behold.

I wonder if in these modern days, such practices are still in vogue today ?

Leave a Reply

