Saw Near And Yet Saw Far

My late Mum came back one day from the now-heritage class World Optical Co.,(at Leith Street, Penang)  with a funny pair of spectacles.    These had a semi-oval patch on each glass.  She said, “Now I can see near, I can see far”.   I thought that was cool….until..

The Day of Reckoning had been creeping up on me surreptitiously and then it dawned on me suddenly that I had crossed into The Other Side Of Mid-life.   My optician said, “Uncle, your eyes are flowery now”.   The fact that I was 4-eyes was bad enough – what, 6 eyes ?

Happily, by that time, progressive multi-focal technology had arrived.

Leave a Reply

