All Kinds Of Medicine Remind Me Of This

At 454, Penang Road stands a modest but iconic “heritage” of the medical kind. “Howe Cheang” is its name.  For since the time when I knew my ABC’s – nearly 6 decades ago – I have heard this name so very often.  Yes it was the “Go-To” place for all kinds of western medicine – well trusted by Penang Lang.   You named it, they had it.

As a kid I was not always in good health.  Poor as my parents were, they always took me across from Butterworth to visit clinics in Penang.  Often, the clinics did not stock certain medicine, and the doctors would write a prescription to buy them at this shop.  But I also know, a prescription was not always needed.

Leave a Reply

