Chariots Of Firewood

I came across this photo on the web and it immediately transported me at light speed back to my days in the kampong (and decided to play pun with Vangelis’ 1981 song).

We used firewood to cook our meals and boil our water.

Nearby my house (Butterworth) was a sawmill – called Sim Lim – and my dad would go there once a month to buy odds and ends of timber discarded by the mill.   And then hired the services of a friend who owned a bullock cart, to haul the load of wooden pieces back to our house.  I think the whole package deal was 10 ringgit.

Once the “chariot” arrived, everyone in the family joined in to unload the wood, for later processing.   Those wood the days, of fun – you may say.

Leave a Reply

