WMI or Undivided Lack Of Usefulness ?

I cannot recall clearly  when box of mathematical instruments (aka ‘WMI’) first showed up in our school yearly to-buy “book list”.  Among the items in that box was a strange two-legged creature with sharp points.   We later learned that it was called “Dividers”

But how many of us really found an occasion or even a faint excuse to ever use it ? As for me, it was next to none, even though I was at the forefront of technical drawing in my later years.

 I have seen pictures and even movies where some folks seem to be manipulating this instrument over maps.  Perhaps I am really lacking in knowledge of this instrument, or perhaps it was and is really useless.  Am sure opinion is divided on this matter.

Leave a Reply

