Only Two Strings, But No Second Fiddle

Besides the harmonica, this quaint 2-string “Er Hu” was the earliest musical instrument that I encountered in my this earthly life.

Everyday, my only Chinese neighbour in my Butterworth kampong would do his routine solo in the late morning.  His pieces often sounded soulful and melancholy.  Unsurprisingly, sometimes he was asked to play at funerals.

In more modern times, this ancient two-stringer is riding on a wave of renaissance in the music scene, being placed in the same limelight as western instruments such as the guitar and the violin, and deployed in all genre of music, including rock.

China groups such as the 12-Girl Band have also endowed the Erhu with much needed glamour. 

My regret :   I never approached this neighbour to ask him to teach me how to play this instrument.

Leave a Reply

